

2015 DIVISION II CONFERENCE COMMISSIONERS ASSOCIATION DIVISION II ALL-AMERICA VOLLEYBALL TEAMS

Contact: Mike Grosz, Sports Information Director, Wayne State (Neb.) College **Phone:** (402) 375-7326 **Fax:** (402) 375-7271 **E-mail:** migrosz1@wsc.edu

December 9, 2015

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

The Division II Conference Commissioners Association All-America Volleyball Team is sponsored by the Division II Conference Commissioners Association.

The Division II Conference Commissioners Association encourages and promotes Division II athletics and high standards of sportsmanship as important elements of higher education. The CCA is a key communications link among the conferences as they discuss views, policies and regulations that impact Division II intercollegiate athletics and works closely with the NCAA as a communications channel to NCAA Division II member colleges and universities.

The All-America Volleyball team is selected by the NCAA Division II members of the College Sports Information Directors of America (D2SIDA).

National Coordinator
Mike Grosz, Wayne State (Neb.) College

Vice-Chair / Atlantic Region Coordinator Doug Spatafore, Lock Haven University

Central Region Coordinator
Gene Cassell, Washburn University

East Region Coordinator Dan Ruede, New Haven

Midwest Region Coordinator DJ Foster, Grand Valley State

South Central Region Coordinator Ian Marks, Colorado Mesa

Southeast Region Coordinator Chad Jackson, Armstrong State

South Region Coordinator
Shane Herrmann, North Alabama

West Region Coordinator
Blake Timm, Great Northwest
Athletic Conference

Tampa's Berkley Whaley voted 2015 Ron Lenz D2CCA National Player of the Year

WAYNE, Neb. - **Berkley Whaley** became the second player in the last four years from the University of Tampa to earn Ron Lenz National Player of the Year honors as the senior outside hitter from St. Petersburg, Florida highlights the 2015 Division II Conference Com-

missioners Association All-America Volleyball Team announced today. Voting for the award was conducted by NCAA Division II members of the College Sports Information Directors of America (D2SIDA).

Whaley joins Spartan teammate and middle hitter Jessica Wagner as the lone repeat selections to this year's All-American First Team. Four of the seven First Team All-Americans hail from the Central Region. They include outside hitter Mariah Scharf of Minnesota Duluth, middle hitter Riley Hanson from Concordia-St. Paul, setter Drew Smith of Northern State and libero Annie Reilly from Central Missouri. Rounding out this year's All-American First Team group is outside hitter Hailey Roberts from Tarleton State.

Whaley concluded her Tampa career as a three time All-American, receiving Second Team honors as a sophomore to go with First Team the last two seasons. The St. Petersburg, Florida native averaged

2015 Ron Lenz Daktronics National Volleyball Player of the Year Berkley Whaley from the University of Tampa. (Photo courtesy University of Tampa Sports Information)

4.11 kills and 3.12 digs per set this year and closed her Spartan career with 1,350 kills. Whaley joins Danielle Selkridge in 2012 as the other Tampa player to receive National Player of the Year honors.

Wagner is a repeat First Team All-American honoree after a standout junior season, ranking fourth in NCAA Division II with a .420 attack percentage while averaging 2.92 kills and 1.06 blocks for the 27-6 Spartans and a #3 national ranking to close the regular season.

Scharf led the Northern Sun Conference and ranked fifth in NCAA Division II in kills per set this season at 4.72 for Minnesota Duluth from her outside hitter position. She was a Third Team All-American for the Bulldogs one year ago.

Roberts becomes the first player in Tarleton State history to receive First Team All-American honors. The 6-0 sophomore from Cedar Park, Texas led NCAA Division II in kills per set (5.69) and points per set (6.57) while also accounting for 3.12 digs, powering Tarleton State to a 27-7 record and their first Lone Star Conference title.

Hanson, a 5-11 junior middle blocker, set a single season school record at Concordia-St. Paul for attack percentage this season at .414 to rank sixth in NCAA Division II. She also produced 3.17 kills and 0.90 blocks per set for the top-ranked Golden Bears this season. Hanson was a Second Team All-American honoree one year ago.

Smith led NCAA Division II in assists per set this season (13.13), helping Northern State tie a school record with 25 wins this season. The senior from Ames, Iowa was the Northern Sun Conference Setter of the Year and finished her career with a school record 4,774 assists. Smith helped the Wolves to a 25-4 record this season and a #6 ranking to end the regular season.

Reilly helped Central Missouri to a 30-5 record this season by averaging 5.92 digs per set to rank second in the Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association and 13th in NCAA Division II. Her 728 digs this season were a career-high, helping the Jennies reach the NCAA Division II National Tournament for a 33rd consecutive season.

2015 Division II Conference Commissioners Association NCAA Division II Volleyball All-American Teams

2015 RON LENZ D2CCA VOLLEYBALL PLAYER OF THE YEAR BERKLEY WHALEY - TAMPA

2015 ALL-AMERICA FIRST TEAM

POS	PLAYER	CL	SCHOOL	HOMETOWN
OH	Hailey Roberts	So.	Tarleton State	Cedar Park, Texas
OH	Mariah Scharf	Sr.	Minnesota Duluth	Loretto, Minn.
OH	Berkley Whaley	Sr.	Tampa	St. Petersburg, Fla.
MH	Jessica Wagner	Sr.	Tampa	Cape Coral, Fla.
MH	Riley Hanson	Jr.	Concordia-St. Paul	Nevis, Minn.
S	Drew Smith	Sr.	Northern State	Ames, Iowa
L	Annie Reilly	Sr.	Central Missouri	Overland Park, Kan.

2015 ALL-AMERICA SECOND TEAM

POS	PLAYER	CL	SCHOOL	HOMETOWN
OH	Carly Sojka	Sr.	Central Missouri	Blue Springs, Mo.
ОН	Kelsey Chambers	Sr.	Northern State	Jordan, Minn.
ОН	Heather Leavitt	Sr.	Point Loma	Mesa, Ariz.
MH	Brenna McIntosh	Sr.	Cal State San Bernardino	Yorba Linda, Calif.
MH	Preecy Seever	Sr.	Rockhurst	Olathe, Kan.
S	Andrea Thobe	Jr.	Wheeling Jesuit	Sidney, Ohio
L	Melissa Mazur	Fr.	Tusculum	Chicago, III.

2015 ALL-AMERICA THIRD TEAM

POS	PLAYER	CL	SCHOOL	HOMETOWN
OH	Megan Vander Meer	Sr.	Ferris State	Grand Rapids, Mich.
OH	Hannah Schellenberg	Sr.	Belmont Abbey	Jacksonville, Fla.
OH	Ashley Diedrich	Sr.	USC Aiken	Orlando, Fla.
MH	Skylar German	Jr.	Post	Kansas City, Mo.
MH	Lauran Graves	Fr.	Wheeling Jesuit	Toledo, Ohio
S	Maggi Jo Keffury	Sr.	Angelo State	Arroyo Grande, Calif.
L	Brittany Jaco	Sr.	Barry	Lakewood Ranch, Fla.

HONORABLE MENTION ALL-AMERICANS: Caylie Seitz, Sonoma State (Outside Hitter); Kayce Crucki, Wheeling Jesuit (Outside Hitter); Katelynn Zanders, Alaska-Anchorage (Outside Hitter); Hannah Tong, Findlay (Outside Hitter); Oni Lattin, Colorado State-Pueblo (Middle Hitter); Sarah Victory, Washburn (Middle Hitter); Kenya Alexander, Tarleton State (Middle Hitter); Jessica Thobe, Wheeling Jesuit (Libero); Morgan Hooe, Alaska-Anchorage (Setter).